You know that AI app creating the magical avatars that are flooding our social media rn? Well, maybe we should hold off on posting our own because people are warning others from using that new Lensa AI app because of a scary detail in the terms and conditions.
Look, most of us are guilty of ticking the terms and conditions box without giving it a full read, if at all… and of course, Lensa is no exception.
Well, what if I told you that the 10-20 selfies you’re uploading to the app might be allowing the company to ‘use’ and ‘distribute’ your face without ‘any addition compensation’ to you/ the user - yep now we’re all regretting not reading the T&Cs!
Commenting on the terms, one frightened Twitter user said: "The images you make using their app are theirs to use in any marketing they feel like doing forever."
By publishing "user content," you also consent to the "company licence," which can allow the app to reuse your images.
The conditions read: "Lensa may allow you to upload, edit, create, store and share content, including photos and videos (User Content").
"You give us such permission by means of a Company License, as defined below.
It continues: "The Company License is for the limited purpose of operating Lensa and improving our existing and new products, including but not limited to training Lensa's Al within your Use of Magic Avatars feature of the application or if otherwise implied by the Using of Lensa and its services unless you have provided us with your additional explicit consent for the different purpose where required by applicable law.”
So is there a way to prevent this from happening?!
According to the Terms & Conditions, "The Company License terminates when you delete the User Content from Lensa's library or by terminating your account."
I guess it's always worth having a quick read of the T&Cs continuing anything, I know I’ll definitely be having a quick squizz before I sign myself up for anything from now on.