Tinder Will Now Let You Block Your Ex

trending 16/06/2021

If this isn’t the best news Tinder-users have heard all week, we don’t know what is!

The popular dating app will now give users the ability to block certain people from appearing on the platform – because nobody wants to be reminded of a previous fling when searching for a new one.

This issue is now solved, as Tinder have introduced a brand-new feature which allows you to block exes, friends, family members, colleagues and the like from appearing on, or seeing your Tinder profile.

The update comes after the app learned through a survey that more than 40% of users have come across an ex-partner on a dating platform, while 24% have spotted a family member, colleague, or even a professor’s profile on the swipe page – talk about AWKWARD!

“We may not be able to save you from awkward run-ins at the coffee shop, but we are giving you more control over your experience on Tinder,” Tinder’s Group Project Manager of Trust and Safety, Bernadette Morgan, shared in a press release about the update. “We’re rolling out Block Contacts as an additional resource empowering members with peace of mind by helping create a worry-free space for them to spark new connections.”

The new feature is now accessible on the profile setting screen. The Block Contact feature works by syncing your phone’s contacts to Tinder – pending your permission – and then allows you to scroll through and block any of those contacts from your Tinder feed, providing their profile is attaching the same phone number in your contact list.

The feature was initially tested in India, Korea and Japan, where members who used it added about a dozen contacts to their block list – simply proving the dire need users have for the feature!

We’re just excited that we’ve got a chance at finding love without being painfully reminded of past heartbreaks…