Closing your iPhone apps is actually bad for your battery says Apple

scandal 28/02/2020

Most of us have always thought the less apps you have open the less battery your phone will use - but that’s completely wrong apparently, according to Apple themselves. 

Apparently shutting out of all the apps that are open could end up making them take longer to load, using more battery power and slowly cause the phone to slow down. 

The official line from Apple is that you shouldn't bother closing an app down unless the app has frozen - who knew!

"When your recently used apps appear, the apps aren't open, but they're in standby mode to help you navigate and multitask. You should force an app to close only if it's unresponsive,” said Apple. 

We always thought apps in the ‘carousel’ are still running, but it turns out they’re actually frozen so they don’t take up extra resources from whatever else you’re trying to do. 

John Gruber, a gadget-focused journalist, said: "Apps in the background are effectively 'frozen', severely limiting what they can do in the background and freeing up the RAM they were using. iOS is really, really good at this,”

"It is so good at this that unfreezing a frozen app takes up way less CPU (and energy) than relaunching an app that had been force quit,”

"Not only does force quitting your apps not help, it actually hurts. Your battery life will be worse and it will take much longer to switch apps if you force quit apps in the background."

So what does drain your battery? Constantly opening apps from scratch, making your phone work harder to power them up. More strain on your phone’s battery eventually wears it down, meaning it won’t last as long. RIP. 

"If you're worried that background apps are draining your battery and you see how quickly they load from the background, it's a reasonable assumption to believe that they never stopped running,” said Gruber. 

"But they did. They really do get frozen, the RAM they were using really does get reclaimed by the system, and they really do unfreeze and come back to life that quickly."

So there you go - it’s best for your phone if you only swipe apps closed if they’re not working properly. And if you’re worried about running them in the background, just check out the permissions they’ve got regarding background permissions in your Settings.

Easy.