The Crain siblings in "The Haunting of Hill House" represent the 5 stages of grief and OMG


If you haven't been watching The Haunting of Hill House on Netflix, you gotta get on that buzz. It's great. And terrifying.

The series follows the Crain family — in the past and present — as they deal with the repercussions and terrifying events that happened while living in their old (haunted) home, Hill House. The show is essentially about grief, trauma and loss.

There's something in the show, though, that you probably would have never come to the conclusion of yourself (or maybe you would have - some of you are smart cookies!)

As pointed out by Tumblr user "cagedbirdsong", the Crain siblings represent the 5 stages of grief. OMG.

The 5 stages of grief denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.


Steve is denial

Steve is constantly refusing to believe what actually happened at Hill House when he was younger. Also, Steve is in denial that Nell's death could've been caused by anything paranormal.

Shirley is anger

Shirley is angry about everything that happens around her from a young age. Shirley is of course angry at Steve who decided to write a book about Hill House. She's also very angry that Nell would kill herself after what happened to their mother.

Theo is bargaining

With her "power of touch," Theo is constantly bargaining for a better outcome. When she finds out that Nell is dead she tries to rationalize why Nell would even go back to Hill House. Theo even explains to Shirley how she felt nothing after touching Nell's body and she was pleading with the universe to let her feel again.

Luke is depression

After finding out Nell is dead, Luke immediately starts feeling like he can't live without his twin sister. At one point, Luke even tells Nell's ghost, "I don't know how to do this without you." He feels her death the hardest and it correlates to depression being the hardest of the five stages of grief.

And Nell is acceptance

Upon returning to Hill House before her death, Nell accepts her fate and accepts the idea of being reunited with her mom. When all of the Crain siblings eventually see Nell inside the Red Room she tells them, "I loved you completely. And you loved me the same. That's all. The rest is confetti."

So when we read this all we were like "mind = BLOWN" and THEN someone went and added this comment and OMG.

Not only do the Crain siblings represent the five stages of grief, but they are born in the order you experience them — Steve, Shirley, Theo, Luke, and Nell.