Don't fall for this new Facebook message 'hack' doing the rounds

scandal 08/10/2018

A Facebook message being forwarded with reckless abandon is leading many to needlessly fear that their account has been cloned.

The message warns you your account has been duplicated and asks you to forward the message to your friends.

You, the receiver of the message, are told that the message sender has received a duplicate friend request from the clone and that you should forward the message along.

If you thought about it, you would realise that the only people in need of receiving a copy of such a message are people who you have received duplicate friends requests from, but plenty of Facebook users are distributing the message far and wide.

Facebook told WSYR TV that rates of cloned accounts have not increased this week, and also confirm the scam is not connected to the recent Facebook security breach.

If you receive the message, you can ignore it, and search Facebook to ensure your account has not, in fact, been cloned.

If your account has indeed been cloned, you can report the phony account to Facebook.

Reporting it is a good idea because spammers can otherwise use it to impersonate you and ask your friends for money or information about you.

A typical message reads as follows:

"Hi… I actually got another friend request from you yesterday...which I ignored so you may want to check your account.    Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears...then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too… I had to do the people individually. Good Luck!"

SOURCE: Newshub's Aine Kelly-Costello