Getty Images

Watch out for this Facebook scam that's hitting NZ

scandal 16/10/2017

Kiwi Facebook users are being warned to watch out for a hack that can lock people out of their accounts.

The hack sends a video link in a message to Facbook mates, that implies the user appears in the video. It reads "Is this yours?" or "It's you [user's name]!"

If the link is clicked and logged in, the message then gets forwarded to the user's friend list.

The scam has already done the rounds earlier in the year but has come around again.

People have been locked out of their accounts because of the hack, with some saying they were getting sent the link from multiple people.