Mumford & Sons reveal new album details

Mumford & Sons

Mumford & Sons

Share this

Mumford & Sons have announced the details of their highly anticipated second album. Babel will be released on 21 September, 2012. The forthcoming album serves as a follow up to the bands multi-platinum worldwide smash Sigh No More.

The band recently unveiled a video teaser to the album through with speculation mounting online as to the record’s title.

"We are more than excited to release Babel into the world,” Mumford & Sons reveal, “We had started writing new songs well before we got into the studio to record. At first, we peeled ourselves off the road quite reluctantly. We love playing live, obviously, but it had also become an important part of our creative process, we had been writing and rehearsing in sound-checks, and sort of ‘road-testing’ new songs on our very gracious audiences. But then we fell in love with recording again. The album started to come together, and with the help of Markus Dravs once more (and engineer Robin Baynton), we started to relish the challenge of making this album. As a band, we’ve never been closer or more collaborative, all working to our strengths. And so we feel that this record is a natural progression that we’re proud of, and we cannot wait to take it out on the road."

The debut went three times platinum in New Zealand, hitting #1 on the local charts. It featured the storming single 'Little Lion Man', and follow up beauty 'The Cave'.

Mumford & Sons also saw success in their native UK and the USA, selling in excess of four million albums worldwide. Sigh No More won Album Of The Year at the Brit Awards and received Grammy nominations, which saw the band play a special Grammy performance with Bob Dylan.

Shortly after the release of Babel, the band will be hitting New Zealand shores for the first time ever. Performing in Auckland, Wellington, and Christchurch this November, the band are keen to see as much of the country as possible.

Babel Tracklist:

1. Babel
2. Whispers In The Dark
3. I Will Wait
4. Holland Road
5. Ghosts That We Knew
6. Lover Of The Light
7. Lovers’ Eyes
8. Reminder
9. Hopeless Wanderer
10. Broken Crown
11. Below My Feet
12. Not With Haste

Have your say